Accesorising Natural Hair challenge

About two weeks ago there was a challenge on Facebook courtesy of Kurlly Diaries. Each person was required to accessorize their hair using whatever available accessories in a creative way. I realized that there is so much you can do with your hair without having the same hairstyle over and over.  Before I started trying out new hairstyle I used to have one hairstyle, push back using hairbands since Iam very conservative and I don’t like trying out new things, I have to be convinced.

My common hairstyle
My common hairstyle

My common hairstyle

This challenge got me out of my comfort zone and came up with interesting hairstyles for the entire period. However I had to adjust my waking up time so that I can have enough time to make my hair and of-course take pictures for sharing on the page.  Unfortunately I was not the winner but yeah the winner deserved it she was very creative, however the challenge was very competitive, every day there was something new to look forward to from different people. I would like to thank   Kurlly Diaries family for encouraging me to keep going and for being an eye opener and also my sister who had to take photos of me every morning.

OVER TO YOU WHICH STYLE  STANDS OUT AND WHY…. your thoughts will be appreciated

Day One - Used red beaded necklace to accessorize

Day One – Used red beaded necklace to accessorize

Day One - Used red beaded necklace to accessorize

Day One – Used red beaded necklace to accessorize

Day One – Used red beaded necklace to accessorize
Day One - Used red beaded necklace to accessorize

Day One – Used red beaded necklace to accessorize

Day two - Cream and Grey scarf on rugged hair

Day two – Cream and Grey scarf on rugged hair

Day two - Cream and Grey scarf on rugged hair

Day two – Cream and Grey scarf on rugged hair

Day two - Cream and Grey scarf on rugged hair

Day two – Cream and Grey scarf on rugged hair

Day three - Flowered Red scarf

Day three - Flowered Red scarf

Day three - Flowered Red scarf

Day Four - Animal Print Scarf

Day Four – Animal Print Scarf

Day Four - Animal Print Scarf

Day Four – Animal Print Scarf

Day Four - Animal Print Scarf

Day Four – Animal Print Scarf

Day Five - Flower on Rugged Hair

Day Five – Flower on Rugged Hair

Day Five - Flower on Rugged Hair

Day Five – Flower on Rugged Hair

Day Five - Flower on Rugged Hair

Day Five – Flower on Rugged Hair

Day six - Red Polka dot bow  and a marvin

Day six – Red Polka dot bow and a marvin

Day six - Red Polka dot bow  and a marvin

Day six – Red Polka dot bow and a marvin

Day six - Red Polka dot bow  and a marvin

Day six – Red Polka dot bow and a marvin

4 thoughts on “Accesorising Natural Hair challenge

  1. nakhulokhaimia August 2, 2013 at 11:50 am Reply

    Reblogged this on Nakhulo Khaimia ( Natabona).

  2. Ruth August 2, 2013 at 12:10 pm Reply

    Really impressed Brenda …thinking of going the natural hair way

    • nakhulokhaimia August 2, 2013 at 12:14 pm Reply

      Welcome Ruth it is such an interesting journey full of fun my dear.

  3. […] https://nakhulokhaimiadotcom.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/accesorising-natural-hair-challenge/ . There so many blogs and pages on Facebook that advocate for natural hair and looks like slowly but surely ladies have started embracing the natural look.  Including our very own Lupita Nyong’o who is spotting Natural hair TWA, that lady knows how to rock it. […]

Leave a Reply

